Just who is the Chicken Salad Crafter anyway?

The question may have come up, just who is the chicken salad crafter? Well y’all know its me!!  (haha ok that was not helpful)  Seriously though, this post is about who I am and what I am about.

chicken salad crafter.jpg

The quilt I’m working on is trying to kill me

I am from South Carolina (I know the y’all didn’t give it away right?) and have lived my entire life in South Carolina, though I have been to other places (Hawaii, Seattle, Canada, the Bahamas, etc)  The hubby and I even did a whirlwind trip last fall driving my sister’s car from Maine back to South Carolina in 4 days. I got to see Gettysburg and Appomattox and where my mom grew up and the hubby got to see the baseball museum.  It was a heck of a trip, and New England in the fall!!

IMG_20161020_110756959_HDR.jpg

The view from a the war monument in Bennington, VT

Anyhow, in two days I will have been married 8 years!!  (Time flies when you are in love).  But lets go further back…

I grew up in a little town called Pauline.  It was named after my great great aunt by my great great grandfather.  We lived next door to one grandmother and a few miles from the other.  My mom loved to sew.  She was amazing, she could look at something and then go home and make it. I am not even kidding. She got me into woodworking, sewing (though I’m no good at it), paper crafts, and the list goes on and on. My dad owned his own business and that’s how I learned the craft of “the sale” as well as more about cars than most women care to know.

polish princess

A Polish Princess shirt my grandmother got me. Wasn’t I adorable?

I graduated from a local university in 1999 with a BA in history and elementary education.  I lasted three semesters teaching before I told the principal at the end of the school year “screw this, I’m going to go be a fireman!”  And I did.  I worked and volunteered for several departments over my 11 years in the fire service.  I got more training as a firefighter than most because I worked at an airport. And at airports you get to be a jack of all trades.  It wasn’t an easy life. It wasn’t.  I had a captain that was just a terrible human being (and I am being too kind) who made my life and others hell on wheels.  I met my husband while I was a firefighter, and we got married and left the church in a fire truck.  I started my masters degree program while I was in the fire service. I have a master’s in Special Education, though I never found another teaching job.

wedding pic

Leaving the church.  My mom made that dress by the way!

So I LOVED being a firefighter.  We had down time during the day, especially on weekends, so I often brought quilting or knitting projects into work.  It was work that gave me the name for this blog “chicken salad out of chicken s**t”.  They used to say that all the time about the rigged up old equipment we had to work with.

firepic

This was not long before I got sick. Note the burnt patch on the sleeve…

Then I got sick. I was diagnosed with Meniere’s Disease. Its a hearing and balance disorder and it landed me out of the fire service on disability. My first wedding anniversary was my last day as a firefighter.  It was a while before I found a job with benefits. In that time we each lost a parent, and struggled to make ends meet. I lost my mom and he lost his dad, both to cancer.  We would battle illness, deaths, infertility, and just the day to day life stuff.

We have settled into a cute house in the foothills with 5 cats and tons of books.  I love to craft and spend way too much money doing so.  I found a job an hour away that I adore. its close to where I grew up.

nike

This is our polydactyl Maine Coon mix, Nike.

What makes us different? Well, we are also SOLAR powered!! (and nerds just sayin’)

solar

Installation day. There are more on the other side too.

We got solar panels on the house last year (another post for another day) and we love them.  We also recycle, upcycle and generally try to be good to the world God made.  The upcycling ideas are often experimental and kinda fun. I got started doing this when the local recycling places quit taking glass because it wasn’t profitable.  But I do like taking things that were old and making them new again. 🙂  That’s the historian in me. 🙂

So that’s the chicken salad crafter in a nutshell I guess.  Not much else to say.  I’ll write more about the cats, the best husband in the world, and crafty things.

Have fun y’all!

Leave a Reply

